Zodiac Sign Charts for Birth Dates + Explanations

Updated January 25, 2022
Horoscope wheel with the twelve signs of the zodiac

The sun is your center and shines its light on your entire birth chart. However, every birth chart contains all 12 zodiac signs. A short explanation of each can help you understand the importance of all.

Zodiac Sign Chart

The 12 signs of the zodiac progress in a specific order and are defined by the changing of Earth's seasons. Aries is always followed by Taurus, Gemini always follows Taurus, etc.

Astrological Signs Glyphs Symbols

Aries the Ram

The sun enters Aries at the March equinox, marking a time of rebirth and growth. Aries is the first sign of the zodiac and the energy of new life. It's the cardinal fire sign ruled by Mars. Its glyph, the horns of a Ram, symbolizes the Aries' penchant for meeting life head-on. Aries is the archetypical warrior, pioneer, daredevil, and survivor. It's bold, daring, courageous, impulsive, and the leader of the pack. It's inclined to rush in where angels fear to tread, giving little consideration to consequences.

Taurus the Bull

Coming after the pioneering energy of Aries, it's time to find a place to settle down, tend the Earth, and enjoy the peace and quiet of each moment. Taurus is the sign of fertility, pleasure, joy, and creativity. Taurus is the archetypical homesteader, farmer, artist, or musician. It's the fixed earth sign ruled by Venus. Its glyph symbolizes the head and horns of a bull. The bull represents the strength, tenacity, virility, and power inherent in Taurus. Taurus is a peaceful, slow, stable sign of abundance.

Gemini the Twins

After the inertia that's characteristic of Taurus, it's time to get out and about. Gemini is the busy bee of the zodiac that wants to see the world, talk to people, and gather and distribute information. Gemini is the mutable air sign ruled by Mercury. It's the archetypical journalist, storyteller, or jester. Gemini is curious, communicative, and perceptive, but superficial. Its glyph, the Roman numeral two, represents twins. It portrays Gemini's dual nature. Gemini is the sign of the carefree child; it's about fun, friends, freedom, and the enjoyment of living in the moment.

Cancer the Crab

After playtime, it's time to go home. The sun enters Cancer on the June solstice. Cancer is about home, family, and heritage. Cancer is the cardinal water sign ruled by the moon. It's the archetypical mother and caregiver. Cancer is nurturing, emotional, intuitive, empathetic, self-protective, and moody. Its glyph symbolizes the crab and speaks of Cancer's sensitive, self-protective and skittish nature. Cancer protects and maintains harmony among family and extended family members. Keywords:

Leo the Lion

When you leave home and family, it's time to get out into the world of others and play. Leo is the fixed fire sign ruled by the sun. It's the archetypical king/queen, performer, or clown. Leo is the "I am" - "see me" sign that's infused with passion, courage, confidence, leadership qualities, and showmanship. Leo's glyph symbolizes the head and mane of a lion, the king of the jungle.

Virgo the Virgin

After the bright sunny days, Leo, it's time to go to work. Virgo is the mutable earth sign ruled by Mercury. Virgo is the archetypical servant, perfectionist, and analyst. Its glyph is an M with a loop turned inward, which symbolizes the crossed legs of a chaste virgin. It represents the virtuous qualities of Virgo. With perfection as its guide, Virgo busily deals with the business of everyday life as it clears the way for a new season.

Libra the Scales

After Virgo clears the way, the sun enters Libra at the September equinox. Libra is the cardinal air sign ruled by Venus. It is the archetypical artist, peacemaker, and judge. Libra is intellectual, artistic, and people-oriented. Its glyph resembles the sun rising over the scales of justice. Its symbol, the scales, represents the reconciliation of opposites inherent in Libra.

Scorpio the Scorpion

After the harmony of Libra, comes the passionate and intense emotions of Scorpio. Scorpio is the fixed water sign ruled by Pluto. It's the archetypical detective, magician, and hypnotist. Its glyph is an M with a scorpion's tail stinger. Scorpio is intense, guarded, instinctual, sexual, and secretive. Scorpio is mercilessly introspective and instinctively suspicious of the innermost motives and dark secrets of others. Its intent is to experience the emotional extremes of life.

Sagittarius the Archer

After the dark, mysterious Scorpio, the sun enters Sagittarius. Sagittarius is the mutable fire sign ruled by Jupiter. It's the archetypical gypsy, student, philosopher. Its glyph is the archer's arrow symbolizing the higher vision that's inherent in Sagittarius. Sagittarius is the friendly, adventurous, open-minded, philosophical, and sometimes imprudent sign of the zodiac.

Capricorn the Sea-Goat

After the escapades of Sagittarius, the sun enters Capricorn at the December solstice and marks the rebirth of the sun. Capricorn is the sign of growth and worldly achievement. Capricorn is the cardinal earth sign ruled by Saturn. It is the archetypical father. Its glyph is intricate. It represents the sea-goat, with its tail in the water and its head above the water. Capricorn is practical, ambitious, and masterful but has a hidden watery nature.

Aquarius the Water-Bearer

After the worldly accomplishments of Capricorn, it's time to gather knowledge and evolve. Aquarius is the fixed air sign ruled by Uranus. It's the archetypical scientist, genius, reformer. Its glyph resembles waves but is actually serpents, symbols of knowledge. Its symbol is the water-bearer who taps into the collective and pours out what they learn to the world's people.

Pisces the Mystic

After Aquarius comes Pisces, the sign of love for all. Pisces is the mutable water sign. Like the ocean, Pisces knows no bounds and can't be contained. It's the most intuitive sign of the zodiac. It feels in every direction--recognizes all emotions. Pisces is the archetypical mystic and martyr. Its glyph resembles two fish tied together, swimming in opposite directions. This symbolizes the two opposites necessary to make a whole. Pisces is selfless, mystical, compassionate, and imaginative but overly sensitive.

Horoscope Dates Are Approximate

Although the dates above are typically used, the sun changes signs on different dates and at different times each year. If your birthday falls near the end or beginning of the date ranges given, you'll need to have a timed birth chart calculated to know for sure in which sign your astrological sun is located.

Zodiac Sign Charts for Birth Dates + Explanations